Madelyn Kresinske – Cooper Library Librarian

Madelyn Kresinske, Cooper Library Librarian

Favorite adult book recommendation —  Vox by Christina Dalcher

Imagine a world where woman are limited to a minuscule 100 words per day, where little girls are not spoken to by their mothers, where women are not permitted to and little girls are not taught to read or write.  This is the world that main character, neurolinguist, Dr. Jean McClellan exists.  Should she or any other female, of any age, choose to test the limits of this governmental decree, they will succumb to physical pain in the form of electric shock dealt by the “word tracker” secured to their wrists.  Vox is a dystopian thriller that will leave you stunned.  This chilling tale of an eerily recognizable future is perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Naomi Alderman’s The Power.

 

 

Favorite young adult book recommendation — Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed

A beautiful middle-grade novel about perseverance, bravery, and acknowledging the injustices in life – and not accepting them but, working to create change. A great reminder to all to value the things we sometimes take for granted like having the ability to read and write.  Saeed’s middle-grade debut is the perfect companion to a nonfiction book like ‘I Am Malala’ and appropriate for grades 5 and up. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *