Patty McLaughlin – Lower School Director

Patty McLaughlin, Lower School Director

Favorite adult book recommendation —  Exit West by Mohsin Hamid

This beautifully written story follows a young couple as they maneuver emigration and displacement.  While a reasonably quick read, its impact will linger long.  Hamid’s main character reminds us that “…we are all migrants through time.”

(more…)

Madelyn Kresinske – Cooper Library Librarian

Madelyn Kresinske, Cooper Library Librarian

Favorite adult book recommendation —  Vox by Christina Dalcher

Imagine a world where woman are limited to a minuscule 100 words per day, where little girls are not spoken to by their mothers, where women are not permitted to and little girls are not taught to read or write.  This is the world that main character, neurolinguist, Dr. Jean McClellan exists.  Should she or any other female, of any age, choose to test the limits of this governmental decree, they will succumb to physical pain in the form of electric shock dealt by the “word tracker” secured to their wrists.  Vox is a dystopian thriller that will leave you stunned.  This chilling tale of an eerily recognizable future is perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Naomi Alderman’s The Power.

(more…)